Header

GHS (CLP)

GHS is the abbreviation for "Globally Harmonised System" adopted by the UN in 2003 to provide a consistent worldwide basis for the classification and labelling of chemical products. GHS has  been adopted worldwide, however, a full worldwide harmonisation is still far from being achieved because countries implementing GHS can choose what parts of GHS to implement into their national law. A lot of basic requirements are the same worldwide but significant differences remain in the classification and labelling criteria between the numerous countries and regions that did already implement GHS.

In EU GHS was implemented through the CLP-Regulation ("Classification Labelling and Packaging" - EU-Regulation No. 1272/2008). CLP adoption of GHS principles is an important and necessary step towards a safer handling of chemicals worldwide. Nevertheless, CLP has had several legislative updates making the system increasingly complex and requiring expert knowledge to comply to the requirements.

In addition to the classification and labelling of chemical products CLP introduced two major notification requirements for substances and mixtures (C&L-Inventory and poison centre notification). These further add to the already high compliance burdens of (especially small and medium sized) companies.  

Our experienced team has supported our clients for over 20 years with safety data sheets and regulatory advice regarding the classification and labelling requirements. Our clients range from small producers with single products to large trading companies with a portfolio of several thousand products. We offer appropriate solutions for every situation to help companies comply with classification and labelling regulatory requirements.

These are mainly:

Header

GHS (CLP)

GHS steht für das "Global Harmonisierte System", welches 2003 von der UN verabschiedet wurde um die Anforderungen für die Einstufung und Kennzeichnung von chemischen Produkten weltweit zu vereinheitlichen. GHS wurde zwar in vielen Teilen der Welt mittlerweile in nationales Recht übernommen, allerdings ist eine Harmonisierung der Regeln nach wie vor nicht gegeben, da oft nicht das gesamte Regelwerk, sondern nur Teile davon übernommen werden. Die Grundlagen sind oft dieselben aber in der Einstufung und Kennzeichnung gibt es oft signifikante Unterschiede zwischen den verschiedenen Regionen.

In Europa wurde GHS mit der CLP-Verordnung (Classification Labelling and Packaging - EU-Verordnung Nr. 1272/2008) umgesetzt. Grundsätzlich war dies ein wichtiger und notwendiger Schritt hin zu einem sichereren Umgang mit Chemikalien. Allerdings wurde damit auch ein komplexes Regelwerk geschaffen (nicht zuletzt durch diverse Anpassungen der Verordnung in der Zwischenzeit), welches zunehmend Expertenwissen benötigt um den Anforderungen gerecht zu werden.

Neben den Regeln zur Einstufung und Kennzeichnung von chemischen Produkten wurden durch die CLP-Verordnung zwei zentrale Meldepflichten für Stoffe und Gemische festgelegt (E&K-Verzeichnis und Meldung für die Giftnotrufzentralen). Diese tragen zusätzlich zu der bereits sehr hohen "Compliance"-Belastung vor allem von Klein- und Mittelständischen Unternehmen bei.

Unser erfahrenes Team unterstützt unsere Kunden seit nun mehr als 20 Jahren bei der Erstellung von Sicherheitsdatenblättern und der Beratung in Einstufungs- und Kennzeichnungs- sowie anderen regulatorischen Fragen. Unsere Kunden reichen vom kleinen Herstellern von Spezial- oder Einzelprodukten bis zu großen Handelshäusern mit einem Portfolio von mehreren Tausend Produkten. Wir bieten maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für jede Situation und unterstützen Unternehmen bei der Erfüllung ihrer regulatorischen Pflichten.

Diese umfassen im Kern: